Memorial Details

NEWMP Memorial Image
Photo: Tony Harding


Roll of Honour 1914-18 St. Paul




ELSWICK (N'castle/Elswick)

Map ref

NZ 235641

Original Location

St. Paul's Church, Havelock Place (demolished)

Which war


Memorial Description

Roll of Honour. This is a typed programme which was read out at ďAn Armistice Day Memorial ServiceĒ in 1921.

Materials used



St. Paulís Parish Church /Newcastle upon Tyne
Roll of Honour
Names / of / Members of the Congregation, / Day School Old Boys, / Men of the Parish, and / Relatives of Members of the / Congregation.


Present condition

Church closed 2005


1. It seems reasonable to suppose that this predates the memorial, the format of which is unknown and which was unveiled in 1922.

Newspaper cuttings, photos or archival material

Photos: Tony Harding

Research acknowledgements

Tony Harding

Research In Progress

If you are researching this memorial please contact

Roll of Honour 1914-18 St. Paul (E35.09)

ELSWICK   St. Paul's Church

Note: The spellings are exactly as they are in the document.

    St. Paul’s Parish Church
    Newcastle upon Tyne

    Roll of Honour

    Members of the Congregation,
    Day School Old Boys,
    Men of the Parish, and
    Relatives of Members of the
   Let us commemorate the men from our Congregation.

    St. Paul’s War Memorial.

    Names of Members of the Congregation on the Shrine.
    Pte.     Arthur Bedford         Pte.  Alfred Gillespy
    Lt.      Leslie Hall Douglass   Pte.  Edward Eyton
    Bomb.    Charles E. Varcoe      Pte.  Bernard Byers
    Pte.     Robert Carruthers      2/Lt. John Norman McGuiness
    Pte.     Ernest Etherington     Sgt.  Herbert Barr
    Pte.     William Elliott        Pte.  Thomas Stephens
    Pte.     John Pearson           Pte.  George Hall
    Pte.     Edward Russell         Capt. Arthur Derrick Hamer
    Sgt.Maj. Stephen Laws           Gnr.  Arthur Reginald Walker
    Lt.      Walter Tait Roan       Pte.  George Hunter
    Tel.     John Whaley            Pte.  Sholto Russell
    Lt.      Arthur C. Goodall      Pte.  Thomas M. Moor
    Sgt.     George Pringle         Lt.   Cecil Smith
    Pte.     Artie Hill             2/Lt. Harold Williamson
    Sgt.Maj. John Slight.
    Pte.     John Dewar
    Pte.     John Arthur Marshall
    L/c      Bertie Carruthers
    Sgt.Maj. Archibald Russell
    Pte.     Alfred J. Farthing
    Let us commemorate the Old Boys from the School

    The Roll of Honour of St. Paul’s Day Schools.
    George Bertrand Sibbit
    James Carruthers
    Forster Corn
    Andrew Curry
    John Day
    James Davidson
    Robert Elrod
    George Graham
    Arthur Mitchell
    Charles Robert Anderson
    Henry Miller
    George Moore
    Alex Purvis
    William Roach
    Joseph Rothfield
    John Edward Reed

    Let us commemorate the men from this Parish
    Isidore Abrahams        Reginald Edgar
    Oswald Allan            Alfred Eric Entwisle
    Fred Armstrong          Harry Clennel Foreman
    John Baptist            Cedric Fox
    Matthew Baptist         Peter Campbell Frazer
    George W. Batey         John Gainsborough
    Robert W. Beattie       Richard Edward Gates
    Charles Blakey          Thomas George Gee
    John W. Blakey          Alex Morrison Gibson
    J. Burluraux            Robert Giles
    Donald Cameron          John Grant
    John Chamberlin         James Hall
    Thomas Chapman          John Hamilton
    William Chapman         George Hardy
    Percival Cox            John Hardman
    Herbert Cross           George Hartshorn
    George Davis            Arthur Haver
    Frederick Dawson        John Higgins
    Robert Dickinson        Robert Holloway
    William Ditchburn       Teasdale Fawcett Hymers
    Edwin Dodd              John Iung (Young)
    Robert Dunn             James Johnson
    Lawrence Easton         Joseph Johnson
       ? ?                  ?Richard ?Higgins

    Arthur Lowry            James Sewell
    David McNichol          Harold Lawrence Sinclair
    William Mair            Harry Smith
    Abraham Marshall        William Smith
    Thomas Marshall         John Atkinson Smith
    Robert Martin           Alexander Taylor
    Sidney Maule            Ralph Taylor
    Alin Mawson             Henry Temple
    Henry Miller            Joseph Thompson
    Marshall Mitchell       Michael Tighe
    Charles Morgan          Robert Alex. Turnbull
    Nicholas Murphy         Albert Tweed
    Partric Murray          Herbert Waller
    Edward Murton           James Waugh
    William Newstead        William Weightman
    Ferguson Park           Albert Wilson
    Harold Petch            E. Wilson
    Lionel Philipson        Thomas Wood
    William Reid            Timothy Wright
    Stephen Renforth        James Young
    Ernest Robson           William Purves Miller
    George Robson           Godfrey Todd
    Thomas Robson           Hannah Elizabeth Wright
    David Rollo

    Let us commemorate those near and dear to us who worship here.
    Albert Charles
    Thomas Heward
    Walter Hetherington
    Kingsmill Nimmo
    Jack Pullan
    William Pullan
    Stephen Thompson
    Alexander Brown
    Frank Barnes
    Chris Barnes
    Archibald Spencer Goddard
    Percy Howard
    Cecil Thorp Landrey
    Robert Jardine McKee
    James West
    William James Graham

You are looking at all the information and the best images we have so far on this memorial. If you can supply more information or better images please get in touch by sending an email to

Parish Notes

Every Name A Story