Memorial Details

NEWMP Memorial Image
Photo: Dorothy Hall


Roll of Honour 1914-18 Bede College





Original Location

Bede College.

Which war


Memorial Description

Roll of Honour, pre-printed, behind glass in a plain wood frame. There is a border of leaves and berries. The prayer is in a cartouche below the title, with a cross at centre. Names are handwritten in two columns. This is number 1 of two identical rolls.

Materials used

Paper behind glass.


Roll / of / Honour / for the Dead.
Grant them O Lord eternal rest and / let light perpetual shine upon them.


Sculptor, Artist or Designer

Society for the Propagation of Christian Knowledge, London

Newspaper cuttings, photos or archival material

Photos: Dorothy Hall

External web link

Additional Notes

a. Durham at War have researched this name on this War Memorial. Arthur Henry Corner

Research acknowledgements

Dorothy Hall; David Butler

Research In Progress

If you are researching this memorial please contact

Roll of Honour 1914-18 Bede College (D47.127a)


  for the Dead.
  Grant them O Lord eternal rest and
  let light perpetual shine upon them.
  Joseph W. Coulson     ‘93-‘94    William Henry Stockdale   ‘08-‘10
  James A. Nichols      ‘99-‘01    Joshua Graham             ‘08-‘10
  John W. Huggins       ‘05-‘07    Richard Robson Corker     ‘10-‘12
  John Patterson        ‘06-‘08    Arthur Henry Corner       ‘11-‘13
  William H. Bayles     ‘07-‘09    John Duke                 ‘11-‘13
  Thomas Minks          ‘07-‘09    George Philbey            ‘11-‘13
  Laurence Shortridge   ‘07-‘09    Sydney C. Cureton          -----
  William G. Graham     ‘09-‘11    Robert Jones              ‘06-‘08
  Robert H. Robson      ‘09-‘11    Thomas C. Smyth           ‘06-‘08
  Joseph H. Atkinson    ‘10-‘12    Anthony E.L. Parker       ‘05-‘07
  Sidney H. Cunningham  ‘10-‘12    John Clayton Spraggon     ‘14-‘16
  Robert Hogg           ‘11-‘13    Jacob Crabb               ‘14-‘16
  Robert Stafford       ‘11-‘13    Robinson Wallace          ‘14-‘16
  Alfred Barker         ‘12-‘14    Nathaniel Bewick          ‘14-‘16
  Robert Hogg           ‘12-‘14    Arthur D.L. Vickers       ‘07-‘09
  John Edward Prickett  ‘12-‘14    Joseph Neall              ‘15
  Joseph Matthew Watson ‘12-‘14    Thomas Emery Bainbridge   ‘13-‘15
  Andrew Wilson         ‘12-‘14    George McPherson          ‘06-‘08
  Cyril Stanley Hall    ‘13-‘15    Ernest Albert Godbold     ‘15   
  William Graham Hall   ‘13-‘15    Fred. G. Smith            ‘00-‘02
  James Moore           ‘13-‘15    Reginald Victor Armstrong ‘05-‘07
  William Arnett        ‘07-‘09    Robert Percy Kellett      ‘14-‘16
  Henry Tait            ‘12-‘14    Francis Lupton            ‘13-‘15

You are looking at all the information and the best images we have so far on this memorial. If you can supply more information or better images please get in touch by sending an email to

Parish Notes

Every Name A Story